Ekiti State Governor, Dr Kayode Fayemi sacks and approved the removal of the Vice Chancellor of Ekiti State University, (EKSU) Prof. Samuel Oye Bandele.

Also approved for removal are the Chief Medical Director of the Ekiti State University Teaching Hospital (EKSUTH) Dr. Kolawole Ogundipe, the Provost, College of Education, Ikere Ekiti, Prof. Mojisola Oyarekua.


The governor’s approval of the Fayemi sacks of the heads of the state owned institution followed the consideration and adoption of the White Papers on; the reports of the Visitation and Fact Finding Panels by the State Executive Council.

Fayem sacksi, who acted in his capacity as Visitor to the institutions subsequently directed the most senior officials at the institutions to take over their running pending the appointment of substantive heads.

In the case of EKSU, the Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academics), Prof (Mrs)Olubunmi Ajayi, is to take charge in an; acting capacity pending the appointment of a substantive Vice Chancellor by the Governing Council.



fayami sacks


The Governor also; approved the appointment of Mrs Folakemi Falore as the Sole Administrator of the College of Health Sciences and Technology, Ijero-Ekiti.

As approved by the State Executive Council, the Governing Councils’ immediate task is the implementation of the approved recommendations of the White Papers.

In the case of the College of Health Sciences and Technology, Ijero, the Sole Administrator is responsible for; implementing the White Paper.

The Governor also approved the immediate constitution of the following governing councils.

Governing council were also; appointed for the institutions.

Former Vice chancellor of the Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile Ife, Prof Bamitale Omole was; appointed the Chairman of the Ekiti State University, Chief Oluwole Ojo, Prof Adebayo Olukoshi, Prof Funmi Olonisakin, Prof Okey Onyejekwe, Mrs Foluso Olaniyan, Dr Amina Salihu, Mrs Mope Akerele, Prof Funso Falade and Mr Matthew Imoru as council members.

For EKSUTH, Dr Dare Teniola (Chair), Dr Adebola Orimadegun, Dr Adedolapo Fasawe, Prof Bosede Afolabi, Dr Janet Funke Ogunbunmi, Mrs Ajoke Oluwasanmi and Prince Soji Agunbiade as members of the council.

For the College of Education, Ikere Ekiti Chief Afolabi Ojuawo (Chair), Chief (Mrs) Moni Afuye, Prof Kola Oladunmoye, Mr S.I. Folorunso, Otunba Kunle Ajayi and Mrs Jumoke Adamolekun as council members College of Health Sciences and Technology, Ijero Mrs Folakemi Falore ( Sole Administrator).