The 7th edition of the Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Award, AMVCA, is currently holding at the Eko expo hall, Eko Hotel and Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos, where Africa’s top movie stars and filmmakers will be recognized for their exceptional work and contribution to the industry.


On-air personality, IK Osakioduwa is the host, and he is co-anchoring with a new female co-host, Kenya’s Amina Abdi Rabar.

Awards will be presented in 28 categories, with seven categories open to public voting and 21 being categories decided by the AMVCA panel of judges with the inclusion of a new category, The MultiChoice Talent Factory Award.

As all the celebrities are bringing their A-game to the red carpet and serving us some major looks, here are winners so far in the star-studded event.

Best Art Director:

Dimeji Ajibola and Iwaotan Olusola Roberts.


Best Make Up for a Movie or TV Series goes to:

Lillian Omozele Paul.

Best Costume Designer for a Movie or TV Series is:

Dimeji Ajibola for Ratnik.


Best Picture Editor goes to:

Tosin Igho and Bryan Dike for Seven.

Best Sound Editor goes to:

Cristina Aragon for Living in Bondage.


Best Soundtrack goes to:

Larry Gaaga and Flavour – Tene for Living in Bondage.

Best Writer in a Movie or TV Series Nominees:

BB Sasore – God Calling
Tosin Igho – Seven
Vanessa Kanu – Sylvia
Biodun Stephen – Joba
Nicole Asinugo and CJ Obasi – Living In Bondage
Akay Mason and Yusuf Carew – Elevator Baby

Best Cinematographer Nominees:

God Calling – Cardoso
Living In Bondage – John Demps WINNER
Ratnik – Niyi White, Gbenga Fifolabi and Abiola Ladipo
The Set Up – Mohammed Attah

Best Lighting Designer In A Movie Or TV Series:

God Calling – Cardoso WINNER
Ratnik – Abiola Ladipo
Elevator Baby – Eleaxu Texas
Plan B – Odhiambo Walter

Best Costume Designer Movie or TV Series Nominees:

Living In Bondage Olohigbe Nwagwu WINNER
The Foreigner’s God Ifan Michael
Ratnik Dimeji Ajibola
King Of Boys Yolanda Okereke

Best Documentary Nominees are:

Hidden Euphoria – Aderogba Adedeji
Skin – Beverly Naya WINNER
Against All Odds: A Tale Of Resilience – Aderemi Davies
Ibadan: Yoruba Heritage – Tunde Oladimeji

Best Indigenous Language Movie/TV Series Swahili Nominees:

Raveet Sippy Chadh – Subira WINNER
Timoth Conrad Kachumka – Sema
Victor Gatonye – Dream Child
Joan Kabugu – Toy Car

Best Indigenous Language Movie/TV Series Hausa Nominees:

Tuntube – Muhammad T. Finisher WINNER
Mariya – Abubakar Bashir
Abarawa Rai – Muhammad Adam and Tundun Murtala
Sadauki – Hassan Giggs

Best Indigenous Language Movie/TV Series Yoruba Nominees:

Ronke Odusanya – Ajoji Godogbo –
Yewande Famakin – Alubarika WINNER
Oyebade Adebimpe – Adebimpe Omo Oba
Wumi Olabimtan – Intent

Best Indigenous Language Movie/TV Series Igbo Nominees:

Isianyaocha – Brown Ene
Nekwa – Paul Igwe
Nne – Victor Iyke WINNER
Obiakpor – Evan Okechukwu

Best Television Series Drama Or Comedy Nominees:

Jenifa’s Diary – Funke Akindele
Truth – Anis Halloway WINNER
Life As It Is – Uche Odoh
Women – Uchenna Mbunabo